Profile

collacentaur: (soft icon2010)

collacentaur's Journal

Free Account

Created on 2011-04-08 14:59:00 (#765957), last updated 2011-05-27 (321 weeks ago)

3,740 comments received, 0 comments posted

1,266 Journal Entries, 55 Tags, 0 Memories, 7 Icons

View extended profile

Name:collacentaur
Birthdate:Aug 16
Location:New Jersey, United States of America
Stranger than your average Steph...

Geographically, I was born and raised in northeast Massachusetts. I went to college in northern New Jersey, and loved the area so much that I stayed.

Professionally, I am a legal secretary/paralegal/office manager in a small lawfirm. Much of the practice is municipal law, but we also handle real estate, wills and estates, forming corporations, business transactions, and a little bit of almost everything. I have a paralegal certificate, but I get about as much use out of that as I do my bachelor's degree (double major, religion and political science). Experience is worth much more than paper.

Personally, I am a near-sighted, overweight single woman. I have a roommate, who fills the roles of family and pet as I need. I self-identify as bisexual and polyamorous, but on both counts that's a case of theory or philosophy, since to date my serious attractions have been to monogamous men. My political stance is generally liberal, but I am unaffiliated with any political party. My religious orientation is nominally Episcopalian, but my beliefs vary widely from the church doctrine. Also, I am an ordained minister, not through the Episcopal church but through a non-denominational organization. I am by nature shy, introverted, introspective, and at times painfully inept in social situations. However, humans are social animals, and I need interaction with others just as much as I need solitude. I am very fortunate in my friends; they are incredible people.

For another website, I described myself this way: I am prickly and cuddly, cynical and optimistic, shy and talkative, chaotic and organized, aloof and affectionate, independent and insecure. I love strength and vulnerability, passion and patience, extraordinary intelligence and common sense. I know that I am a curious contradiction. Can you handle that?

I consider myself to be a work in progress, and I'm the project that I've been working on the longest. Change is hard, but often good in the long run. I refuse to be anyone else's project.

Beyond that, perhaps one of the best ways to know who I am is to read this journal. This is all me, ups and downs. I enjoy writing, and I welcome questions.
People [View Entries]
Communities [View entries]
Feeds [View Entries]
To link to this user, copy this code:
On Dreamwidth:
Elsewhere: